

ORDINARY MEETING

POST ELECTION MINUTES

8 APRIL 2024

The resolutions contained within these minutes were confirmed at the Ordinary Council meeting on the 16 April 2024.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ITEM	SUBJECT PAG	GE NO
1	OPENING	2
2	PRESENT	2
3	LEAVE OF ABSENCE / APOLOGIES	3
	NIL	3
4	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING	3
	NIL	3
5	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN MATTERS ON THE AGENDA	3
6	DEPUTATIONS	3
	NIL	3
7	BUSINESS ARISING OR OUTSTANDING FROM PREVIOUS MEETINGS	3
	NIL	3
8	PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS	3
	NIL	3
9	COUNCILLOR/DELEGATE REPORTS	3
	NIL	3
10	QUESTIONS/STATEMENT/MOTIONS ON NOTICE FROM COUNCILLORS.	3
	NIL	_
11	REPORTS	
	11.1 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR	
	11.2 COUNCIL ORDINARY MEETING DATES 2024 - 2028	
	11.3 DETERMINATION AS TO WHETHER ELECTED MEMBERS WILL	0
	BE SUBJECT TO PAYG WITHHOLDING TAX 11.4 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR TO THE LOCAL DISASTER	6
	MANAGEMENT GROUP	7
	11.5 CONSIDERATION OF STANDING COMMITTEES OR COUNCILLOR PORTFOLIOS	8
12	AUDIT, RISK AND IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE REPORTS	9
	NIL	9
13	URGENT BUSINESS\QUESTIONS	9
14	CLOSURE OF MEETING	10

MINUTES OF THE ORDINARY MEETING HELD AT COUNCIL CHAMBERS, 4 LAGOON PLACE, YEPPOON ON MONDAY, 8 APRIL 2024 COMMENCING AT 9:00 AM POST ELECTION

1 OPENING

Acknowledgement of Country

"I would like to take this opportunity to respectfully acknowledge the Darumbal People. The traditional custodians and elders past, present and emerging of the land on which this meeting is taking place today."

Opening Prayer

The opening prayer was delivered by Councillor Pat Eastwood.

2 PRESENT

Members Present:

Mayor, Councillor Adam Belot (Chairperson) Councillor Glenda Mather Councillor Rhodes Watson Councillor Wade Rothery Councillor Lance Warcon Councillor Andrea Friend Councillor Pat Eastwood

Officers in Attendance:

Cale Dendle - Chief Executive Officer Chris Ireland – General Manager Communities Michael Kriedemann – General Manager Infrastructure Matthew Willcocks - Chief Technology Officer Kristy Mansfield - Chief Human Resources Officer Lucy Walker – Executive Support Officer

3 LEAVE OF ABSENCE / APOLOGIES

Nil

4 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

Nil

5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST IN MATTERS ON THE AGENDA

Nil

6 **DEPUTATIONS**

Nil

7 BUSINESS ARISING OR OUTSTANDING FROM PREVIOUS MEETINGS

Nil

8 **PRESENTATION OF PETITIONS**

Nil

9 COUNCILLOR/DELEGATE REPORTS

Nil

10 QUESTIONS/STATEMENT/MOTIONS ON NOTICE FROM COUNCILLORS

Nil

11 **REPORTS**

11.1 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

File No:	GV13.5.2
Attachments:	Nil
Responsible Officer:	Cale Dendle - Chief Executive Officer
Author:	Amanda Ivers -

SUMMARY

This report is for the purpose of the appointment of Deputy Mayor in accordance with section 175 of the Local Government Act 2009.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

THAT, pursuant to section 175 of the *Local Government Act 2009*, Councillor Glenda Mather be appointed Deputy Mayor for the Livingstone Shire Council.

Moved by:	Councillor Friend
Seconded by:	Councillor Watson
MOTION LOST	

Crs A Friend, G Mather and R Watson voted in the affirmative.

Crs A Belot, P Eastwood, W Rothery and L Warcon voted in the negative. **COUNCIL RESOLUTION**

THAT, pursuant to section 175 of the *Local Government Act 2009*, Councillor Pat Eastwood be appointed Deputy Mayor for the Livingstone Shire Council.

Moved by:	Mayor, Councillor Belot
Seconded by:	Councillor Warcon
MOTION CARRIED	

Crs A Belot, P Eastwood, W Rothery and L Warcon voted in the affirmative.

Crs A Friend, G Mather and R Watson voted in the negative.

11.2 COUNCIL ORDINARY MEETING DATES 2024 - 2028

File No:	GV13.4.1
Attachments:	Nil
Responsible Officer:	Cale Dendle - Chief Executive Officer
Author:	Amanda Ivers - Coordinator Executive Support

SUMMARY

This report is for the purpose of adopting the Council meeting dates for the 2024 to 2028 local government term.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

THAT:

- 1. Council Ordinary Meetings be held at 9.00am on the third Tuesday of each calendar month at Council Chambers, 4 Lagoon Place Yeppoon, with the exception of May 2024 Ordinary Meeting to be held on Monday 20 May 2024 due to Mayor/Councillor attendance at the LGAQ Civic Leaders Summit on 21-22 May 2024.
- 2. Briefing Sessions be scheduled by the Chief Executive Officer in accordance with Briefing Sessions Policy adopted 17 November 2020.

Moved by:Councillor FriendSeconded by:Councillor RotheryMOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11.3 DETERMINATION AS TO WHETHER ELECTED MEMBERS WILL BE SUBJECT TO PAYG WITHHOLDING TAX

File No:	GV13.5.2
Attachments:	Nil
Responsible Officer:	Cale Dendle - Chief Executive Officer
Author:	Andrea Ellis - Chief Financial Officer

SUMMARY

This report has been prepared so that the elected members can make a determination as to whether they wish to be subject to Pay As You Go (PAYG) withholding tax, pursuant to Section 446-5 of Schedule 1 of the Taxation Administration Act 1953

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

THAT Council notes the resolution made on 3 January 2014 to resolve to become an eligible governing body subject to Section 446-5 of Schedule 1 of the Taxation Administration Act 1953 effective on 1 January 2014.

Moved by:Councillor WatsonSeconded by:Councillor FriendMOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

11.4 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR TO THE LOCAL DISASTER MANAGEMENT GROUP

File No:	qA79021
Attachments:	Nil
Responsible Officer:	Greg Abbotts - Manager Development and Environment Chris Ireland - General Manager Communities
Author:	Karen Sandy - Coordinator Disaster Management and Community Resilience

SUMMARY

The *Disaster Management Act 2003* provides the legislative basis for the Queensland Disaster Management Arrangements (QDMA), and the framework in which all levels of government, government owned corporations, non-government organisations and stakeholders can work collaboratively to ensure effective disaster management across the state. The QMDA operates on three distinct levels, which include local, district and state government.

Local government must under section 29 of the *Disaster Management Act 2003* establish a Local Disaster Management Group (the Group) for the local government's area, and under section 10 of the *Disaster Management Regulation 2014* the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Local Disaster Management Group are to be appointed by the local government.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

THAT Council appoint Mayor Adam Belot as Chairperson and Councillor Glenda Mather as Deputy Chairperson of the Livingstone Shire Local Disaster Management Group (the Group).

Moved by:Councillor FriendSeconded by:Councillor WatsonMOTION CARRIED

11.5 CONSIDERATION OF STANDING COMMITTEES OR COUNCILLOR PORTFOLIOS

File No:	CR
Attachments:	Nil
Responsible Officer:	Cale Dendle - Chief Executive Officer
Author:	Cale Dendle - Chief Executive Officer

SUMMARY

Council's Meeting Procedures Policy (2.2.3) requires councillors to consider whether to establish Standing Committees or assign portfolios at the Post Election Meeting.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

THAT Council defer consideration of Standing Committees or Councillors Portfolios and workshop the matter at the earliest opportunity.

Moved by:Councillor EastwoodSeconded by:Councillor RotheryMOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

12 AUDIT, RISK AND IMPROVEMENT COMMITTEE REPORTS

Nil

13 URGENT BUSINESS\QUESTIONS

Nil

14 CLOSURE OF MEETING

There being no further business the meeting closed at 9.50am.

Mayor Adam Belot CHAIRPERSON

DATE