News Flash module icon


Media Releases

Posted on: 29 January, 2019

2019 Livingstone Shire Council Australia Day Awards


Community stalwart Brian Dorey OAM has been named Livingstone Shire Council’s Citizen of the Year at last night’s 2019 Livingstone Shire Australia Day Awards.

Individuals and local organisations who volunteer their time and energy to inspire pride in our community were honoured at the ceremony at Yeppoon Town Hall.

Chair of the Australia Day Awards Committee Councillor Nigel Hutton congratulated all of the nominees and winners for their invaluable contributions.

“Indeed the committee and judging panel were extremely lucky to have such a wealth of deserving nominees to choose from when shortlisting our winners,” Cr Hutton said.

“The vibrant, social fabric which makes our Shire so special speaks volumes to the generous hours of work and dedication given to community groups, sports clubs, environmental, arts and seniors groups by these amazing individuals. Many groups would simply cease to exist without the service given to make our community great by people like you!

“On behalf of the committee and judging panel I would like to extend our congratulations to both the winners and all the nominees for the 2019 awards,” Cr Hutton said.

Mayor Bill Ludwig said one of the unique attributes of our community has always been the number of individuals and groups who distinguished themselves either through exceptional community service or personal high achievement.

“Whether through service clubs, involvement in sport, the arts or fields as diverse as protecting our environment and contributions to the economic development of our shire, these groups and individuals make a huge contribution in our community,” Mayor Ludwig said.

“On behalf of the community and Council, I salute and commend both the winners and the worthy nominees for their outstanding service and commitment both to the Livingstone community and our region.

“I would also like to thank and commend Councillor Hutton and this year’s awards committee members for their fine efforts.”

Mr Dorey has dedicated 50 years of service to the Yeppoon and District Show Society Inc. He has served as President for 19 years and has spent 31 years in executive roles on the committee. Brian has also served in many community organisations and was the brainchild behind setting them up.

He is a true team leader and passes his knowledge on to all, so that local community organisations and events continue to run.

Along with a myriad of other awards and achievements, Brian has been awarded the Order of Australia Medal as a contributor to business, service, tourism, education, emergency service and sporting organisations.

Mr Dorey was one of the 26 founding members of the Yeppoon Lions Club in 1969, and today is the only sole surviving active charter/foundation member since the Lions club was formed. He has also received a Life Membership from the International Association of Lions Club for over 50 years of service to the club.

The 2019 Australia Day Award recipients are as follows:

Citizen of the Year (26 and over) - Brian Dorey OAM
Young Citizen of the Year (25 or under as at January 2018) - Yasmin Craggs
Cultural Award - Barbara Tamassy
Community Service Award - Yeppoon Surf Lifesaving Club
Senior Sportsperson of the Year - Bill Robertson
Junior Sportsperson of the Year - Shirin Kunkel
Administrator Award - Gurney Clamp
Environmental Award - Dr Alison Jones

Facebook Twitter Google Plus Email

Other News in Media Releases

Additional Fire Relief Funding Welcomed

Posted on: 20 January, 2020

Livingstone Shire Fire Disaster Update #2

Posted on: 18 November, 2019

Do the right thing and use the right bin

Posted on: 22 January, 2019